Back2Nurture

Mom of many trying to nurture herself, family and environment naturally

A Haircut and DIY Hair Product

on March 23, 2015

barber

For the last decade or so, I have cut my sons’ and husband’s hair.  I am not a professional by any means, I simply use a set of electric hair clippers and shave away.  I have gotten a bit better over the course of the years, becoming better able to execute a “high and tight” and I am a wiz with the “teddy bear haircut” (basically a buzz cut about 1/8″-1/4″ making their head soft and fuzzy).

Now that the boys are older, they prefer more individualized styles, and I am a little apprehensive.  So far, I haven’t done too badly, but just the other day I finally succumbed to taking my eldest son to the hairdresser.  His hair had gotten very long on the top, which he liked, but now he wanted it shorter, but not so short I could use my clippers, and he wanted it layered.  That would require scissors and some know-how I just don’t got, so to the Great Clips we went.

He received the cut and style he wanted and proceeded to ask me if we could get some of the stuff that the stylist used on his hair.  It appeared she used some kind of pomade to sculpt his hair a bit.  There was no way I was going to pay the salon prices for hair product.  I just can’t justify the cost, especially since I knew I could probably make my own without all the nastiness you often find in such products.

We came home, and I looked up one of my favorite sites, The Hippy Homemaker, and found her recipe for a DIY All-Natural Hair Styling Pomade.  I had all the ingredients, and went to it!

Rockin’ Awesome Hair Styling Pomade

INGREDIENTS

  • 4 Tbsp. beeswax
  • 4 Tbsp. Shea Butter (you can substitute this with unrefined coconut oil if you like, but shea butter is less greasy)
  • 4 Tbsp. jojoba oil (you can use almost any other carrier oil here, such as olive, almond, apricot kernel, or even vegetable glycerin.)
  • 2 Tbsp. arrowroot powder or non-gmo corn starch (optional, takes some of the grease out from the oils. If you like a little bit of glossy shine then don’t worry about this option)
  • 2 vitamin E pills (I used about 1/2 tsp of liquid Vit E I had on hand) – optional

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a double boiler, (I usually use a pyrex bowl in a sauce pan of boiling water as my makeshift double boiler) melt the beeswax and shea butter, stirring every so often.
  2. When the beeswax and shea butter is melted, allow to sit on heat for 20 minutes to process the shea butter.
  3. Mix together arrowroot powder and jojoba oil in a small bowl, until arrowroot is dissolved into the oil. If using Vitamin E to lengthen the shelf life of the pomade,  poke the vitamin E pills squeezing the contents into the bowl and let cool until hardened.
  4. Remove shea/wax mixture from heat, and add arrowroot/jojoba oil mixture.
  5. Using your hand mixer, blend the hair pomade until it begins to turn into a pudding/taffy life texture.
  6. Scoop into metal tins and store in a cool dark place.
  7. Use only a small pea sized amount on hair. A little goes a long way!

I might have to tweak it a bit, my son had a bit of trouble with it, seemed a bit too hard, but it did the job!  Definitely a keeper! 🙂

Leave a Reply

